I Mina Trentai Tres Na Liheslaturan Guåhan Resolutions Log Sheet

						Committee	DUDUC	DATE	
Resolution				Date of	Date	/ Ofc	PUBLIC HEARING	COMMITTEE	
No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Presentation	Referred	Referred	DATE	REPORT FILED	Date Adopted
210-33 (COR)	N. B. Underwood, Ph.D.	Relative to recognizing and commending the	10/12/15	10/15/15					10/14/15
		hardworking school principals of the Guam	9:48 a.m.	4:00 p.m.					
		Department of Education on the occasion of "National							
		Principals Month"; and to further extending a sincere							
		Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse' to each of them for							
		their daily commitment to provide safe and healthy							
		learning environments for our students in the Guam							
		public school system.							

I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2015 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 210-33 (COR)

Introduced by:

N. B. Underwood, Ph.D.
<u>R. J. Respicio</u>
T. C. Ada
V. Anthony Ada
FRANK B. AGUON, JR.
Frank F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
James V. Espaldon
Brant T. McCreadie
Tommy Morrison
T. R. Muña Barnes
Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
Michael F.Q. San Nicolas
Mary Camacho Torres
Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and commending the hardworking school principals of the Guam Department of Education on the occasion of "National Principals Month"; and to further extending a sincere Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse' to each of them for their daily commitment to provide safe and healthy learning environments for our students in the Guam public school system.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN: WHEREAS, the National Association of Secondary School Principals and the

4 National Association of Elementary School Principals have declared the month of

5 October as "National Principals Month"; and

1 WHEREAS, school principals are educational leaders who nurture, sustain and 2 advocate for the success of all students and instructional programs by facilitating the 3 development, articulation, implementation, and stewardship of a vision of learning 4 that is shared and supported by the school community; and

5 WHEREAS, school principals are educational leaders who promote the success 6 of all students, faculty, and staff by embracing a school culture conducive to student 7 learning, and the professional growth of faculty and staff; and

8 WHEREAS, school principals manage the organization, operations, and 9 resources of their schools to provide for a safe, efficient, and effective learning 10 environment; and

WHEREAS, school principals collaborate with families and community members to respond to daily community issues and needs affecting educational success, and to recruit services to address the diversity of student needs; and

WHEREAS, school principals act professionally with integrity, fairness, and
 ethical standards; and

WHEREAS, school principals understand, respond to, and influence larger
 political, social, economic, legal, and cultural issues that affect education; and

18 WHEREAS, school principals improve instructional practices through the fair
19 and purposeful observation and evaluation of teachers and staff; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Department of Education school principals who are
recognized and commended for School Year 2015-2016 include: Janice Chargualaf,
Hannah Gutierrez, Derrick Santos, Corina Y. Paulino, Agnes Guerrero, Nancy Diaz,
Julie Mendiola, Ranielle Ranan, Christine Terlaje, Daisy Ramirez, Melissa D. Limo,
Darlene Castro, Carolyn Diaz Camacho, Anthony H. Cepeda, Beverly San Agustin,
Natasha Dela Cruz, Geraldine Quejado, Geraldine Pablo, Dr. Asherdee Rosete, Tricia
Moylan, Germaine M.I. Castro, Dr. Lisa Cooper-Nurse, John Wesolowski, Rebecca

Perez, Evangeline Iglesias, James Petitte, Patrick Egrubay, Robert G. Martinez,
 Michael G. Meno, Duane Mantanona, Naomi Taitingfong, Jim S. Reyes, Dexter Fullo,
 Lynda Hernandez-Avilla, Dr. Barbara R. Adamos, Begona S. Flores, Carla Masnayon,
 Rosalin F. Meeks, Sophia Duenas, and Eleuterio J. Mesa; now therefore, be it

5 **RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Tres Na* 6 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people 7 of Guam, recognize and commend the hardworking school principals of the Guam 8 Department of Education on the occasion of "National Principals Month"; and does 9 further extend a sincere *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to each of them for their 10 daily commitment to provide safe and healthy learning environments for our students 11 in the Guam public school system; and be it further

12 **RESOLVED,** that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules 13 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of 14 the same be thereafter transmitted to Peter Alecxis Ada, Chairman, Guam Education 15 Board; to Jon Fernandez, Superintendent, Guam Department of Education; and to the 16 Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'låhen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 14TH DAY OF OCTOBER 2015.

BENJAMIN J.F. CRUZ Acting Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules

RORY J. RESPICIÓ Acting Legislative Secretary



COMMITTEE ON RULES

I Mina'trentai Tres na Libeslaturan Guâhan • 33RD Guam Legislature www.guamlegislature.com • 155 Hesler Place, Hagáña, Guam 96910 www.roryforguam.com • email: *cor@guamlegislature.org* • Tel: (671)472-7679 • Fax: (671)472-3547

COMMITTEE VOTING SHEET

Resolution No. 210-33 (COR) N. B. Underwood, Ph.D. – "Relative to recognizing and commending the hardworking school principals of the Guam Department of Education on the occasion of "National Principals Month"; and to further extending a sincere Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse' to each of them for their daily commitment to provide safe and healthy learning environments for our students in the Guam public school system."

	SIGNATURE	DATE	TO ADOPT	TO NOT ADOPT	TO ABSTAIN
Senator Rory J. Respicio Chairperson		10/14/15			
Senator Thomas C. Ada Vice-Chairperson	EVOTE	10/14/15	\checkmark		
Speaker Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. Member	EVOTE	10/14/15	\checkmark		
Vice-Speaker Benjamin J.F. Cruz Member	EVOTE	10/14/15	\checkmark		
Legislative Secretary Tina Rose Muña Barnes Member	EVOTE	10/14/15	~		No.
Senator Frank B. Aguon, Jr. Member	EVOTE	10/14/15	\checkmark		
Senator Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. Member					
Senator Michael F.Q. San Nicolas Member	EVOTE	10/14/15	V		
Senator Nerissa B. Underwood, Ph.D. Member	1	10/14/15			
Senator V. Anthony Ada Minority Leader	EVOTE	10/14/15		1-0-1-1-1	
Senator Mary Camacho Torres Minority Member	EVOTE	10/14/15	\checkmark		

For Sponsor's Office Use Only

and runond Sponsor Signature: Staff Contact Person: Nicole antos

For CQR/Clerk's Office Use Only Show of etified Returned Nam Date: Notes